Broody Buff on Eggs: HELP!

Red Star

In the Brooder
12 Years
May 4, 2007
I have 20 hens and a rooster and one of my buffs went broody and we have let her sit on them in the coop nesting box. Dd is VERY excited and now I realize I have no idea what I'm doing.

After lots of eggs being broken and other hens getting in and laying in the box, we are down to the wire with about 11 eggs and now I'm panicking because I've never done this before!!

I have a couple concerns:

Should I separate the broody with her eggs from the others so that the others don't kill the peeps or will buff take care of them enough?

My nesting boxes are not made well for peeps, they're a good 8-10 inches off the ground and there is a fold down step that the hens use to get in them. I don't see how the peeps will be able to get in and out . . . should I try to set up something new NOW, while they are still eggs or wait till the peeps hatch??

If I set up something new inside the coop but in a different location, moving the hen and her eggs into a box/bin, will she take care of them or is this too much change at once??

Thanks for any help you can give!!

Whenever you decide is up to you, but do it in the dark so she is less likely to abandon the eggs and will sit tight. Good luck.

Jody

I always keep a large dog crate in the coop to be able to take care of a broody hen when I have one and use a large plastic bin or pan for her eggs and her to set in....Move the eggs and the hen at night she will be calmer and likely to go back to setting on the eggs....keep a dish of feed and water also in the crate...make sure whatever you use to contain her in is large enough for her to get up eat and have ample space to poo in.....

Last edited: