Broody Hen?/Help she left

SHELLY

Songster
12 Years
May 7, 2007
Southwest Missouri
I think I have a broody hen. I've got a black silkie that has been in the nest box the last two nights when I get home from work. I don't know if she is there all day or not. Last night when I got the eggs from under her, she pecked my hand a couple of times. It didn't hurt.

Tonight she didn' peck, but she didn't move either. How do you know if she is broody?
idunno.gif

This is my first year with poultry. I have some questions about this.
1. If I let her set, will she quit laying at some point and just sit? This hen lays almost every day.

2. In order to get the chicks to hatch within a day or so of each other (so they'll be the same age and so that momma wont leave the unhatched eggs) do I steal her eggs and store them until I have as many as I want to hatch?
jumpy.gif

3. Can she get up and eat or drink? Does a hen actually stay on the nest for 21 days? What about when she needs to go to the bathroom?
lau.gif
How long could a hen be off the nest and not hurt the eggs?

I'm sorry if these are stupid questions or if they have been addressed in other posts, I haven't found the answers to these quesions yet.

12-19-07 My broody silkie left the nest for most of the day. It was such a nice day outside I guess she couldn't resist. I noticed she was not on the nest this morning, another hen was in the box. Elvis (thought she was a roo) was on a roost. I opened up the coop so they could go into the run. I went shopping and was gone about 4 hours. When I came home she was outside. She didn't go in until I put all of the chickens up and closed the door. She got in the nest after that. Should I wait and candle them on Day 7 or are they ruined?

Last edited:
Oh yes, your black silkie is getting broody!
lol.png
It's funny when chickens get broody! Oh, and does the silkie pluff up when you show up? She's intimidating you!

Sorry but I don't think I can answer no. 1.........I'm a chicken newbie!