Broody hen?

bigbum1984

In the Brooder
6 Years
Feb 18, 2013
Kent, England
i have 3 lohmann hybrids that are a year old, i've recently added 6 chicks (14 weeks old) to my flock which seem to be getting on ok. one of my adults doesn't seem to like the chicks but now i think she's gone broody.

she normally lays within 10 minutes then goes out with the rest of them, but today she's been inside all day. she's laying on the egg she laid plus one of the others. she hasn't eaten or drunk anything since about 11 this morning (it is nearly 11pm)

when i went to check on her she didn't try to peck me or anything, she even let me touch the eggs, she stands up when any of the others goes in but is not puffing her feathers up or threatening them in anyway.

i have raised my adults from 5 week olds so they are very tame, but this is my first time doing this so have a few questions

1 - is she broody?
2 - do i need to put water and food inside for her?
3 - do i separate her from the others?
4 - how long could she be broody for?
5 - should i get some fertilised eggs?
6 - if so how do i swap them without her rejecting them?

all 3 adults lay their eggs on a shelf, she didn't seem bothered when one of the others laid an egg beside her

any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!!!

1 - is she broody?
2 - do i need to put water and food inside for her?
3 - do i separate her from the others?
4 - how long could she be broody for?
5 - should i get some fertilised eggs?
6 - if so how do i swap them without her rejecting them?

all 3 adults lay their eggs on a shelf, she didn't seem bothered when one of the others laid an egg beside her

any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!!!!