Call ducks

Moments

Songster
Jun 17, 2023
I'm getting a runner, Welsh Harlequin and an African goose (all female) toward the end of the month. Was thinking of getting a call duck or two as well. Do you think even though there's a significant size difference that they'll do ok with each other if they're raised together? I've seen many mixed sizes flocks that include calls but also seen many say it's not a good idea. The calls don't get sexed so I wouldn't know if they'd be male or female. Also, with the flying, has anyone has issues with recall when free ranging? My Pekins and Swedish come when called but I've never worked with Call ducks before

1st thing, please either get 2 geese, or no geese at all. A single goose will not be truly happy living with ducks - they don’t speak the same language, or have the same behaviors.

I don’t have calls, but all brooding together sounds like a bad idea. The size difference is very large, like you said, with calls and geese. As adults, it might be better.

I’ve seen stories of people who had calls, or other flying birds, who, despite being owned for months or even years, flew away and were never seen again. Even if you trained them to recall, there’s still no guarantee that they’ll stay. Many people simply don’t take the chance and will clip their wings.

1st thing, please either get 2 geese, or no geese at all. A single goose will not be truly happy living with ducks - they don’t speak the same language, or have the same behaviors.

I don’t have calls, but all brooding together sounds like a bad idea. The size difference is very large, like you said, with calls and geese. As adults, it might be better.

I’ve seen stories of people who had calls, or other flying birds, who, despite being owned for months or even years, flew away and were never seen again. Even if you trained them to recall, there’s still no guarantee that they’ll stay. Many people simply don’t take the chance and will clip their wings.