Can chick have comb not true to breed?

chicksurreal

Songster
6 Years
Dec 3, 2013
Arizona
I have a Silver Spangled Hamburg chick that has a single comb. I know he's a product of my SSH roo and a SSH hen, so there's no question about breed, but they are hatchery stock. How often does this happen? His hatchmate, who at this point seems to be a pullet, has the rose comb. No comb visible, but the space is there. I'm just curious about how this could happen. I have no problem with it, but it's just odd.

He's 7 weeks old and already crowing, cutest little bugger, but the comb has me questioning...

PS - the date on the camera is wrong. I just took this pic this morning.

Last edited:
I'm not an expert on breeding, but coming from hatchery stock he may have that gene in him. I'd like to hear what others have to say because I think this is very interesting.
smile.png

I'm not an expert on breeding, but coming from hatchery stock he may have that gene in him. I'd like to hear what others have to say because I think this is very interesting.
smile.png
Thanks! Me too, I was shocked to see the single comb because all of my Hamburgs have the rose comb and the rooster had a gigantic rose comb, to the point where it was a detriment, he couldn't even see past it. I'm almost happy to see the single comb, Lol.

Thanks! Me too, I was shocked to see the single comb because all of my Hamburgs have the rose comb and the rooster had a gigantic rose comb, to the point where it was a detriment, he couldn't even see past it. I'm almost happy to see the single comb, Lol.
Wow! I'm very interested in genes in any animal, and I believe recently it was theorized that human eye genes have at least 3 contributors (rather than just mother and father). Perhaps the same is true with chicken combs?