Can nature take it's course?

donj156

Hatching
12 Years
Apr 6, 2007
I'm fairly new at this chicken thing, and I'm learning something new every day. I've had 6 silkies for a year now, and have them in a coop with a run attached. I've had a steady supply of eggs, and am now wanting to let one of my hens hatch out a bunch of them. She's started another brooding cycle, and I want to just let her set the eggs and hatch them out. Will she do that just fine without my involvement? What are the risks, if any? Do I need to "candle" the eggs, and what if I don't ?? Can I just let nature take it's course, and let her handle it all? And what if I don't seperate her and the new peeps from the rest of the chickens? I have 3 hens, and 3 roosters total right now....

Yes. I think it is best to let them brood out eggs. You don't need to mess with her or the eggs. She knows whats she doing. I've read that Silkies make great mothers. Just let nature take its course. I would separate her from the others just in case they don't take a liking to the chicks once they hatch.

As time goes on you will find that they all have a different approach to this broody thing. I've got one that I totally trust, she does not want her chicks out in the general population until they are two weeks old. So, she has her own pen during that time. I have one that wanted her peeps out almost immediately, she's been a very good Momma, she doesn't let any one any where near her peeps. I've got another that when her single peep hatched she abandoned it and another hen adopted it. Then I have still another that if I don't remove her feathered behind from the nest twice a day she won't move.