Candling questions. First time attempting to hatch. Updated w/ pics

upcdayz

Songster
9 Years
Feb 20, 2010
Oklahoma
On the 20th of this month my Silkie Serama hen decided to set on her eggs. There were three in her nest at the time, then on the 21st I took three more of her eggs out of the refrigerator, warmed them to room temperature then placed them by her nest. She accepted the eggs right away and has been sitting on all six ever since.

Today while she was off the nest to eat I decided to candle eggs, mostly out of curiosity since I've never tried to hatch eggs before and because I really wasn't even sure the eggs were fertile. Both she and her boyfriend, a Silkie Serama rooster, are under a year old. I've read several threads here and on the internet, looked at YouTube videos and viewed the photos and videos post on the Incubating and Hatching eggs thread here on BYC. Not all of the hen's eggs look like the photos and videos I've seen, so here are a few questions for those who are experienced in candling eggs.

1. One egg has some blob in it but I can't tell if it's growing. I can't really see an air sac at the top, but I'm not sure if that's because of the coloring of the shell, or maybe my flashlight isn't bright enough, or if it is an infertile egg. How well defined should the air sac be at this point (Day 6?)

2. Three of the eggs look a lot like the photos I've seen with veins visible and a dark spot that moves around on the inside, so I'm assuming those are doing OK at this point.

3. One looks like an overgrown yolk blob and has a well defined air sac but no visible veining and no dark spot. When I turn the egg over, the blob moves along with it. I can clearly see the outline of the blob. It looks a lot like an overgrown yolk. Is this a sign of an early death? At what point should I take the egg away from the hen? Or will she kick the egg out herself?