Chicken tractor floor

nursepinch

Chirping
10 Years
Jun 29, 2011
Newbie here. I'm building a chicken tractor. No hens yet - I want to be ready first. Our predators in northern Alabama include coyotes, foxes, raccoons, possoms, hawks, and owls. Maybe snakes?? I'm covering my run with 1/2" hardware cloth but I'm wondering about the floor of the run. If I cover it with hardware cloth, will the hens be able to "scratch?" That seems to be important to them from what I've read. Plus, I want them to be able to eat the grubs. If I don't cover the floor with hardware cloth but make sure the coop is locked up at night, will that provide enough protection for the hens? If I decide to cover the floor, should I use something larger like 1"X 2" wire or even chicken wire or will that just add a false sense of security. I've been looking at coops and tractors on the internet and some have wire floors and some don't.

Also, does any one know if the eggs spoil in the heat of the day if I don't collect them by the time I have to leave for work about 6AM?

Thats what I do with m girls. I secure them in the coop nightly. I haven't had any problems as of yet. I just secure the pop door after they roost. It sounds like you are about ready for the girls. Good luck!

You could make an apron of hardware cloth around the edges of your tractor.

I personally have owned a tractor with hardware cloth on the bottom which we made specifically for raising baby chicks in. It worked very well and withstood a couple of known raccoon attempts at entry. When the chicks got older it got messy because the poop wouldn't fall through easily. Eventually we started using bedding in it which was OK, but defeated the purpose of a tractor...so we built them a regular coop.