Chicks beak broken

mystus808

Songster
9 Years
Jan 15, 2011
I have 11 chicks and all were healthy until today I come and did that one of their beaks have broken... It is the bottom beak and it is like a hang nail bit a beak. Anyone have any idea if this chick will live and if she will be able to ey and drink.... thanks for the help.

Use super glue. You will probably want to offer her some mash (chick food + yogurt = yum for chickies) to make sure she's eating well for a few days, but if you glue it well she should heal okay, it will just take some time.

I am a newbie... but had to say... very interesting... I didn't know you could do that.
Not to get way off, but how does it heal? This is the biology teacher in me
smile.png

I knew you could cut the top beak if needed which led me to the thoughts that the beaks are "dead" at the end like a fingernail...
When you say heal, do you mean "grow out"... (don't take the wording wrong... I am genuinely interested in how this works)

Quote:
Disclaimer: This is in regards to birds with a hard beak such as chickens, parrots, etc. Ducks are a different matter!