Crop issue?

Mis pollitos

Songster
11 Years
Oct 5, 2012
Stillwater, Minnesota
I'm a newbie. Thought I had posted this, but can't find it. I don't know where it went so I'm going to try again. I have 4 20 week old chicks. 2 started laying about 10 days ago. It is one of these about whom I have a concern. I've attached pictures. She appears to be eating and drinking fine, behaves just like the other 3. My chicas do not free range (too many predators), the floor of the run can be seen in the pictures so you can see what they are running around in all day. Does it look like she has a crop issue? It feels malleable and soft, she allowed me to manipulate it with no problem. Any feedback would be very much appreciated! Thank you in advance...

Attachments

• Crop?.jpg
    Crop?.jpg
    632 KB · Views: 11
  • Crop 3.jpg
    Crop 3.jpg
    568.3 KB · Views: 11
It hangs fairly low for such a young bird, but I would check her crop for several mornings in a row to make sure the crop is emptying. Do this before she's had anything to eat/drink so you get an accurate gauge of crop function.
When you feel the crop during the day when she's eating/drinking you should feel food in there.

IF her crop is not emptying (flat) in the morning, then read the article linked, it will help you with treatment. IF it's not emptying and it's hanging low like that, she may need a crop bra to help sort things out.

What do you feed?
Are you providing oyster shell and poultry grit (granite) free choice too?

https://www.backyardchickens.com/ar...w-to-know-which-one-youre-dealing-with.73607/

It hangs fairly low for such a young bird, but I would check her crop for several mornings in a row to make sure the crop is emptying. Do this before she's had anything to eat/drink so you get an accurate gauge of crop function.
When you feel the crop during the day when she's eating/drinking you should feel food in there.