CloneFly

Never say Never
Premium Feather Member
Mar 8, 2022
Hello All! I currently have 3 roosters and 22 hens and due to some recent events, my family has begun seriously considering raising some backyard "mutts". I'm very new to the world of chicken breeding and would like to hear from the experts which would be the best breeds to, well, breed!

Objectives:
-
Healthy hens.
- Decently reliable layers.
- Friendly personalities.
- Colorful eggs a bonus!
- Would appreciate any possible sexlinked crossbreeds as we will ship the young roos off to a friend's farm to be raised as meat birds. (we're allergic to meat)
Available Roosters:
- Lavender-splash Amererucana (x1)
- Cuckoo Maran (x2)

Hens Available to Breed:
-
Barred Rock (x1)
- RIR (x2)
- Black Sexlink (x3)
- White Leghorn (x1)
- Silver Leghorn (x2)
- Cream Legbar (x2)
- EEs (x3)
- Silkies (x2)
- Amererucana (x2)
- Jersey Giant (x2)
- Dark Brahma (x1)
- Delaware (x1

Any advice and/or tips are welcome and appreciated. I would truly just like to hear what you all think. We plan to start breeding around January. We've been blessed with very sweet (if loud) roosters and all my hens are quite loving and affectionate- though some more than others. (My leghorns can be skittish- as is expected.) Again, my main objectives would be healthy hens that are good layers- I've lost a few pure-breeds this year due to genetic related issues. I'm looking forward to hearing what y'all think!

I know you're more looking at cross-breeding ideas, but honestly, I would take the best rooster and match them up with 5 or 6 of your favorite hens which should pass on great genes for the chicks.

If color were any consideration, here's a link I use for creating what colored silkies I want. That might help in your decisions perhaps. Color genetics.

The only sex-link crosses would come from your Ameraucana rooster over your barred rock and cream legbar hens .