Duck Questions!! =)

NewChcikenmommy!

Chirping
8 Years
Jul 9, 2011
Kingsland,Georgia
I am totally new to ducks and after little convincing to my husband we want to add some to our tiny flock of hens. I have a few questions I'm hoping I can have answered here. Thanks! You all are great!

1. What is the best breed of duck to raise for eggs (to eat) & are friendly? I have a 3yr old and another on the way.
2. Can they be raised together with hens?
3. How can you tell a male from a female?
4. If you sell ducks, what do you sell & how much for shipping if you're not close enough to pick up?
5. Are there any particularly quiet ducks?

I have a broody hen sitting on some fertile eggs that should be hatching any day this week..YAY Babies!!..We would like to throw some ducklings into the mix after they all hatch.
Thanks for your help!!

Khaki Campbells, Runner ducks, Welsh Harlequin and there's a duck that is a hybrid that is also a good layer, but the name escapes me.

Ducks are fun to watch, fun to feed, and can be taught to come when called. They don't like being picked up and carried. If your kiddos are calm and don't chase them, they'll be able to go and watch the ducks, and even feed them, but they aren't going to be able to pick them up and snuggle them like a kitten. Very rarely there are drakes that are aggressive. They don't tend to come right up to people unless you have spent A LOT of time with them as ducklings.

My ducks live with my chickens and pretty much ignore each other. Drakes may try to mate with the chicken hens, and can kill them doing so. The ducks will all hang out together and the chickens will all hang out together, and they don't usually mix much. Main issue is that the ducks will muddy up and use up the water, so you have to have a lot more water than for just chickens by themselves. Ducks also will eat as much as possible of the chicken food -- it is nice to have an area that the chickens can eat in without the ducks around.