Edible Eggs of All Types: Please Compare and Contrast

Last Train Vnyd

In the Brooder
6 Years
Apr 24, 2013
Southern Ohio
I would like to hear from all those BYC folks out there with their thoughts and opinions about the different edible eggs as compared to chicken eggs. Most of us know what chicken eggs taste and look like, but fewer of us know much about duck, goose, turkey, quail, etc. Please compare as many qualities as possible including but not limited to size of egg, taste, smell, cooked texture, price, or anything else that you can think of.

I have young chickens and guineas (not laying yet), and I’m just getting into raising 2 adult ducks (currently laying) and 4 goslings. Eventually heading for Narragansett turkeys and maybe peafowl. Poultry is addicting!
jumpy.gif

Well, I have chickens, ducks, and guineas.

The duck eggs to me, taste like slightly "overcooked" chicken eggs -- you know the ones that you leave in the pan an extra minute and get a little browned? My ducks eat layer feed and have fresh kiddie pools for water but free range otherwise. They are bigger (Pekin), the shells are stronger, the whites are thicker and the yolks are HUGE. I think they are marvelous to bake with (brownies). However, I am not a fan of them scrambled. I think I could get used to them but we have such an overabundance of chicken eggs that I don't have to try.