RoseyHens

Hatching
Apr 10, 2020
Looking for advice please!
I adopted two injured 16mth old Isa Browns from a farmer 2-3wks ago. He thought one had bumped her eye in transit so I took her in hoping to give her a good home while she recovered.
The eye has swollen dramatically and after some research (I'm very new to all of this!) I’m suspicious it may be an eye worm. The eye is in there - but appears to be pushed down by a white-ish lump under a membrane sitting across the top - with a little bit of white tissue seemingly sticking out from under the edge of the membrane and a cloudy look across the eye. Eye seems to be watery but not pussy. Her weight doesn’t appear to have changed in the past few weeks and her comb looks quite normal.

She is now in quarantine and I’ve cleaned out the main coup with the rest of the flock, but I don’t know how to help her! I read that VetRx is a good treatment but extended post delays on deliveries means I can’t expect to receive any online orders within a month or so. I couldn’t possibly afford vet bills right now as I’m suddenly unemployed on account of Covid19 😔

Would be enormously appreciative of any advice on likely diagnosis & treatment - just to help me address the problem swiftly without tackling it from the wrong angle. The eye is really bothering her and she's losing feathers on her back from all the rubbing I think. I feel so bad for her! Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• IMG_9855.jpg
    IMG_9855.jpg
    402.4 KB · Views: 11
  • 12552833-2445-44C5-8759-73999E1EFFE1.jpeg
    12552833-2445-44C5-8759-73999E1EFFE1.jpeg
    330.7 KB · Views: 6
  • 92614987-B5D3-460F-9EC0-9F3487465478.jpeg
    92614987-B5D3-460F-9EC0-9F3487465478.jpeg
    310.2 KB · Views: 6
  • 07EBB005-E3F2-4D5F-9A71-7368199D026B.jpeg
    07EBB005-E3F2-4D5F-9A71-7368199D026B.jpeg
    311.2 KB · Views: 5
I’m suspicious it may be an eye worm.