Greystone farm

Songster
Jul 7, 2020
I recently acquired an adorable Indian RunnerxMagpie duckling who hatched without eyes. Her name is Penguin (but you can call her Penny) and she’s doing quite well considering, but I’m still a bit worried about her. She has trouble breathing sometimes and gets tired easily (though I suspect she’s also got underdeveloped sinuses, which might explain it) and sometimes makes clicking sounds while breathing. She also sticks her tongue out a lot while eating and drinking and seems to always be itching one of her feet. I looked and there aren’t any sores or rashes on her foot, so I’m a little confused and worried. The other thing that worries me is that there’s a little bit of discharge coming out of where her right eye should be, but I guess that might be normal for ducks without eyes? I have no experience with disabled birds so I’ve got no clue.
Otherwise, though, Penny is eating/drinking/pooping/moving fine and has bonded with my two other ducklings quite well. I think she’s about a week old.
Any help at all regarding any of the problems I’ve mentioned would be appreciated. Thanks! ❤️
NO COMMENTS SUGGESTING I SHOULD CULL HER WILL BE TOLERATED WHATSOEVER. I’m not in the practice of killing young lives before they get a chance to bloom, and if you are, I ask that you kindly keep it to yourself.

Attachments

• 0CEF586F-08CE-4330-B534-ACC376C4E4D1.jpeg
    0CEF586F-08CE-4330-B534-ACC376C4E4D1.jpeg
    274.7 KB · Views: 15
  • 237BA2C9-6CA9-4CC2-BCD2-584FA475DAE8.jpeg
    237BA2C9-6CA9-4CC2-BCD2-584FA475DAE8.jpeg
    230.6 KB · Views: 9
  • A6501575-3CA8-45C5-852E-DDA0964ECAD1.jpeg
    A6501575-3CA8-45C5-852E-DDA0964ECAD1.jpeg
    174.3 KB · Views: 10
Penny is adorable. :love And lucky to have someone like you caring for her.