First cull- not so bad

lomb chix

In the Brooder
5 Years
May 6, 2014
Boulder Creek, CA

I'm new to chickens and had to process my first bird yesterday. He was a beautiful Cuckoo Marans that was mis-sexed at the feed store. I was devastated when he started crowing at 7 weeks. We're not allowed roos here, and although my neighbors were wonderful, I was very stressed. At 12 weeks his nonstop crowing was maddening, and I was concerned he might try to mate with one of my banties. I felt the most responsible & respectful thing to do was cull him myself, and get closer to my food. I read many posts and watched YouTube videos. My neighbor helped me through the process. I was a vet tech for 15 years, so I was familiar with the anatomy, which helped it go faster. I used the neck slit method, and was happy with how quickly he went. This morning I awoke in peace, with a huge weight lifted from my shoulders. I used every part except the intestines & gall bladder. I feel this is the best way to honor Zori. Not his fault he was a boy. Now I know I can raise my own meat chickens, and have actually ordered more just for meat. Thanks to everyone here for their insight and well written articles. RIP Zori. You were loved.

Glad your experience and outlook on the situation was so positive.. Not looking forward to the day I have to cull my first but I know I need to be prepared to do it.. Any advice on mixing meat birds and my egg laying hens? Can they share the same coop?

Nice job! We did our 1st last year when we had an older hen who was injured and wouldn't make the winter. We are now on batch 2 of broilers, the first were cornish x, and our red rangers should hatch in 2 wks. We feel great about putting a quality product on our table and even better that all of our animals were loved and lived happy healthy lives.