First winter with chickens: others have me feeling guilty about not heating. Going to be -3 & -16

goldfishes

Songster
6 Years
Jun 13, 2014
WV
I am new to chickens and am feeling downright awful about my decision not to heat the coop. I do not see how it would be safe to heat with the deep litter in the run and nearly 1/4 of the coop filled with pine shavings. There is nearly 10" of snow on the ground and I just see fire/electrocution potentials if I stuck out a heat lamp at this point. Also, I should mention a few weeks ago, we lost power for nearly 8 hours and it's known to happen without notice around here.

I have six pullets: two production reds and four easter eggers. They are 10 1/2 months old. Two are in a partial molt, but all are healthy and eating well. They have experienced 0F, but not negative temperatures.

My fellow chicken keepers in the area are heating their coops. They report the chickens don't leave the coop, where mine mostly stay out in the run except to lay eggs or occasionally warm-up for a few minutes. Today, it was 6 degrees and they were out in the run scratching around acting like it was a normal day.

To prepare for winter, three quarters of the run has been covered in plastic to block wind, rest is open to avoid moisture and to allow fresh air/sunlight. There is a 6' privacy fence around the yard that seems to also help with blocking wind. I have a 4x4 elevated coop and the few times I've stuck my head inside, it's not as cold as it is outdoors. There is a vent at the top of the roof and a small window with shutters that I've closed. I added almost three bags of pine shavings (about 10" of bedding inside.) I've been giving them warm mash in the mornings (just their feed softened with water), some yogurt or eggs every couple of days, oatmeal and scratch right before bedtime.