Floor Material for Small Coop and Run

dsbailey70

Chirping
5 Years
Jul 7, 2014
Nederland, Texas
I'm new to raising chickens, and only recently got my first three. My first coop/run is relatively small, roughly 9.5ft x 2.5ft (23.75sq ft?), not counting the roost and nesting boxes. Right now I've got it sitting on 4x4's and pavers, with a dirt floor. The heavy rain today has almost convinced me to pour a concrete floor for it (there's a flash flood warning out too). I've read most of the threads regarding concrete floors vs dirt, shavings, etc, but they're not very recent. What do y'all think, entire concrete (with 4-5" of shavings), or keep the dirt floor as is? Is 4-5" of shavings enough, or should I use dirt?

Sand....sand......sand!

Believe me, I've tried alot of different flooring materials. Sand is the very best for your chicken run, because it drains well, you can rake out the droppings and feathers and such, and they love to dust bathe in it. I really do believe my hens enjoy the sand.

Now, for inside the coop, I always use pine shavings.

I'm new to this as well so correct me if I'm wrong but I heard wood floor, then cheap laminate flooring, then shavings with a little bit of DE scattered

I may be new but DO NOT USE SAND!!!!!! sand harbors bacteria and diseases and parasites like non other sand is the worst thing you can possibly have for your beautiful chickens