Funky Feet!

Barn Mama

In the Brooder
7 Years
Sep 17, 2012
Danford Lake, Quebec Canada
Hi, I am new to hatching chick`s, and so far I don`t know if i should continue. I keep running into problems, I know it`s not a piece of cake......but I started in October 2012 and so far I have only hatched 2 chicks; which is fine, but both of my chicks have had issues...like 1. My first chick I found lifeless, kinda CPR`d it back to life ( rubbed it in a heating blanket and blew into its beak) and 2. My second chick I watched it hatch....so COOL! but when I went back after a while I found it on it`s back glued to the mesh, so I seringed it with warm water till I could get the chick off. Then all it`s "fur" wouldn`t fluff up because it was dried with the gooy stuff, so I sponge bathed it with warm water and put it directly back in the incubator. It`s body dried and got fluffy but not it`s head, I noticed that it had a crust over half it`s head, so I started applying vasoline till it was soft and could be taken off. In the mean time I noticed that it was born with Funky Feet, they were turned in and the chick could walk, it would take 2 steps then lay down. So I created these paddle like shoes, spread it toes the way they were to be and applied the "shoes" oh you should have seen the chick running around, Now after a week I took them off and they are a bit turned in still but the chick is running around fine, eating well and drinking well.........so I have 2 questions >: 1. am I doing something? and 2. what is normaly done for "funky feet"? and can my chick grow into a healthy chicken?

You can see my chick with the "shoes".