Getting into quail raising

PiningCitySlicker

In the Brooder
Jan 29, 2022
Birmingham, AL/Miami, FL
Hi, I'm looking to begin raising quail this summer and I have a fair few questions, being a complete novice with everything concerning poultry.
I have not quite decided on where I plan to put my coop/hutch/cage and any advice in choosing a location would be much appreciated. My current options are to either place the cage/hutch in my (3-walled and well ventilated) shed and use another cage to let them browse and get sun in the shrubland behind my house, build a free-standing raised hutch inside my yard, or build an aviary/pen onto the side of my shed. I'm not looking to raise a huge number (probably 8-14), but the capacity to increase my flock size or raise pheasants and chukar would be very desirable.
Alabama summers are obviously very hot, so should I be concerned about that? Do I need to consider a certain heat-tolerant breed? Rigging a fan (as I've heard other people mention) where I plan to put my quail may be rather difficult, so any other ways to keep the quail cool would be nice. The temp range where I live is about a 90 degree high and 70 degree low on average.
While on the topic of temperature, does anyone know of a good affordable heat lamp? Recommendations on equipment like feeders, founts, and the like is always appreciated.

You probably want to start with Coturnix quail. They are the easiest, tamest, and don't require permits in most states.
The heat is a concern if it gets over 90. If it doesn't get close to 100, they'll be fine with shade and maybe a mister. If it gets over that, you'll want to add ice bottles or other things to help them cool down.
Quail are ground birds, so they will be happiest on the ground with a lot of little places to hide. They may use a coop, but won't use it like chickens do.

For general questions, I would start here:
https://www.backyardchickens.com/articles/categories/quail.32/