Getting our first goats

melissaglisson

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jan 6, 2014
I have a question for those of you who have goats or experience with them. What are some of the basics we should know before bringing home newly weaned babies? Should we vaccinate, deworm, and what is the best feed? The person we are buying them from said to get cheap sweet feed from our local feed store. Is that ok or should we get something else? Also, what kind of hay do they need?

Lastly, does anyone have experience with a single goat bonding with another animal such as a rabbit or dog? I would like to only get one goat to bond with our Flemish giant rabbit and dog. I have heard a goat must have another goat around.

Again, we are new to goats and trying to figure out what we need before we jump right in.

Thanks!

Last edited:
I am pretty new to the goats myself, but I have had enough experience to say that you always need to have hay present for the goat. This is VERY important. also, sweet feed is great. I recommend only supplementing the goat's diet with feed. I only give my goats sweet feed in the winter. My goats in the other seasons live of of hay and any brush in the woods. Any hay will work. I try to get the worst hay possible. The ones in the back and full of weeds and other plants, my goats enjoy the variety more. Don't get your high-end horse hay for your goat.

As for bonding, a single goat might get lonely, but if you keep him/her company, they will bond with that person. My Boer goat "Coffee" was a newly weaned when we got him. I spent a lot of time with him and he is now a full grown, un-neutered, still has his horns, buck and he is the sweetest thing. He is very sociable and prefers my attention over his other goat friends'. If you don't have a lot of time to spare, I would recommend getting another goat. Even if it's a pygmie or a friendly wether.