Guinea Keets Coming Soon...Have Arrived!

DeAnzaJig

Chirping
6 Years
Jan 26, 2015
Hello Group!

I am very excited! I have 18 Guinea Keets (and 12 various chicks) scheduled to arrive next week.

This is my first time raising any type of fowl, but I have done extensive reading on this wonderful website and other GF sources. I have had guineas in my head for many years and finally am in the right spot. My main reason for acquiring them is tick control.

This is a picture of my brooder. The base is a children's pool we don't use any more. My dad built the frame from scraps of wood he had laying around and some extra chicken wire. It is removeable so I can take everyone outside for grass and fresh air when they get a little bigger. I plan on keeping it in my parlor until I can move them to their as of yet still unfinished coop.

Today I am going to get the heat lamp set up and test the temps.

Do you just leave the thermometer in the brooder the whole time, even when the Keets arrive?

Thanks!

Last edited:
I felt my Keets were sleeping better without it because they started sleeping through the night after I turned it off. Around 8 pm it would begin to turn to dusk and the Keets would all start to roost. In the morning, they would still be roosting around 8 am, and only start to get up when I went over to feed them. Prior to shutting the light off they would make noise all night long.

They were 5 weeks old when I turned it off, still living in the brooder in my house where we don't have AC or any type of fan in the room they were in, and the temps were high. They continued to eat, drink, and eliminate as before, made the same amount of noise, and weren't showing any signs of discomfort. So I figured they were doing fine.

Thank you for the coop compliment! :)