Hatchery Chicks

Cluckingitup

Songster
May 20, 2019
Pennsylvania
I ordered 25 female black australorp chicks from Myer Hatchery (?Forks, Pa) and I received 26 live beautiful little ones. They were hatched on August 05, 20. I was hoping for 25 female chicks, but I have my suspicions that I may have a few males. This is my first time ordering from hatchery and was hoping after getting 2 roos out of 6 from Tractor Supply last year (supposed to be all female) I would actually get what I ordered. My question is, in general how accurate are the hatcheries? My son wants a roo so one will have a home but I still have one Sapphire Gem roo that is 1 1/2 yr old so I don't know how they would get along. I suspect I have at least 3 maybe 4 roos. I know they are only 3 1/2 weeks old so I am still hopeful that my extra chick is the only roo!! They are stinking cute, and still petrified of me!:confused: What are your experiences? TIA

We ordered 16 chicks (and one free one) from McMurrays Hatchery and all 17 arrived alive. One died a few days later of possibly internal issues. We had to rehome 4 Polish who were being pecked on, so now have 12. We ordered all female and only one of the remaining 12 is a cockerel. They were day old chicks and hard to sex, so we either had good luck or this is common (this was our first mail delivery order).

If you have 25+ hens you can usually keep 2 roosters if you wanted to. Some roosters are mean though so only time will tell.