Hello all

shwaaskii

In the Brooder
Aug 8, 2015
Washington twp Mi
Hey I'm new to the backyard chicken family we just received a rooster and hen this morning, I believe they are the longhorn breed. I'm just looking for sometips on what to do what not to do. We have a temporary coup made from our old dog house and chicken wire to enclose them in. I believe they are 3 months old. When do they start producing eggs and how do I know if they are fertilized? I'm not sure if they are brother and sister does that matter like it does with people and dogs lol

Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided to join our flock. You have White Leghorns. Being a brother and sister won't cause a problem, but I would definitely get some more pullets to go with that cockerel. The recommended ratio of roosters to hens is 1 rooster for every 10 hens. As they mature and the hormones kick in too many roosters (or too few hens in your case) will become very hard physically on the hens; over-breeding them, biting and plucking the feathers from their necks and backs, battering them, and potentially, seriously injuring them. If you can't handle that many hens, I would recommend re-homing the rooster and getting another hen in its place. Most hens begin laying from 20-25 weeks; sometimes a little earlier, and on occasion a little later. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with your flock.

Last edited:
How do they survive in the winter we live in Michigan lol