Hello BYC world!

mermaids

Songster
6 Years
Mar 29, 2015
Frederick County MD
Long-time forum lurker, I've been enjoying learning about fowl and soon bringing home my first chicks, so decided it was time to create an account. I'm a city-born girl, believed to have been switched at birth, as I have always preferred the great outdoors over city conveniences.

Avid vegetable gardener, long-time animal caretaker, first-time chicken owner [to be]. I majored in biology and love putting it to use--chicken and egg color genetics, anyone?! I'm waiting on pins and needles for my first flock--I ordered late February, hatch date is slated for April 13th. How does anyone wait that long??

Currently I also have one dog, an un-terrier-like westie and one horse, TB-X gelding. Former aquarist.

So excited to chat with all of you!

Welcome to BYC!
frow.gif

What breed(s) are you getting to start your flock? It is hard to wait for them but once they get here, you're going to be so busy (if doing nothing else, chicken tv is the best show around).

What's your Westie's name? I used to have one and she was the best dog I've ever had. Had her for almost 15 years, great dog. Of course, I lived in town and didn't have chickens back then. You'll want to really watch how she acts around the chickens, unfortunately, there have been a lot of bird losses from family dogs.

Good luck to you with your new flock and if you have questions, feel free to ask.

Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided join our flock. A lot of us were lurkers before joining. :eek:) Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Since you are interested in genetics, are you getting any sex linked chicks in your order?

welcome-byc.gif
So glad you have joined us.

It seems some of us take awhile to decide to get our own flock and once the decision is made, we want them now..