Hello

Marciekam

In the Brooder
Sep 2, 2017
I'm fairly new to this chicken thing. We got our chickens about 6 months ago. We are just starting to get eggs and just found out we have to move from Virginia to Texas. I really want to take my chickens but not sure how to move them. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Also, I have 4 Australorps that have been laying for about 3 weeks. The eggs are very small and look like pink erasers. I have read that they're supposed to be large to extra-large. Is there something wrong with my chickens?

Hi, welcome to BYC. I am not sure how you would move them, but even somehing small, like a crate or something would be good, depending on how many you have. As long as you don't mind cleaning up a mess. You could even make a little dark area for them and they could fall asleep. By the way, where in Texas are you moving to? I live in Houston.

I don't know about the eggs. Pictures would be helpful. Are they the size of erasers?

We are moving to San Antonio.

Attachments

• IMG_7265.JPG
    IMG_7265.JPG
    227.7 KB · Views: 1
Hmm. Those are exceptionally small. When hens start laying eggs they start small, then get bigger. That COULD be the case. I'll keep thinking.