HELP ANTS!!

kearstin17

Chirping
7 Years
Apr 28, 2012
Grand junction
I have a broody hen that is hatching eggs. They chicks started slowly working there way out today. Still none hatched but I just went out and found that the one chick that is the closest to being hatched is covered in those little black ants. The chick has broke some of the shell and is still in the membrain but there are a lot of little black ants on it. What do I do? I am new at all of this and am kind of freaking out.

Idk about the ants in the nesting box but there are many thing you can do naturally to keep them out of the coop and run. Diatomaceous earth, the kind for your pool or garden, sprinkled around the perimeter will kill them, also cinnamon and cayenne are natural repellants. Also any of these sprinkled in your coop or run will not harm the chickens but I couldn't tell you what to do with the ones attacking the chick. Possibly break it free and get rid of the shell so it doesn't attract more.

I just did cinnamon along the outside of the coop and then I reached in and grabbed out threw out whatever ants I could get to, My hen is also working on eatting them as well. I did try to get the ones off the egg but if I get within inches of it she attacks my hand so I will just pray she will work on them herself.

You will need to move mom and eggs/chicks to an ant free spot for starters. Not ideal, but it will be difficult to get the ants under control otherwise. Make sure you don't move any ants with them. The chicks that is hatching: carefully remove as much of the outer (white) membrane as possible and wipe the ants off the chick with some damp cotton wool. Check for any that went in under the shell/membrane as well. Good luck!