Help! I am new at this. Day 16 and buttons not hatching, but one is breech and pipped.

kellyanns_quail

In the Brooder
Apr 10, 2024
Humidity 65, temp 99.5. Day 16 (not counting first day). One pipped last night and has had it's beak out for 24 hours with no progress. No zipping. Should I assist? Also, I can see the outer membrane is bright white and looks to be pretty dry I cannot see the inner membrane.

Whatever day you put them in the incubator count as 0...Humidity good....I keep temp @ 100 the whole incubation period. From my experience buttons are a challenge....If it has been over 24 hours I would assist, BUT if any other eggs are hatching whenever you open that top you may Keep the others from hatching. Sometimes it will shrink wrap the hatchlings and dry them out. Im no expert though like I said buttons are a challenge. What their progress now???

If your chick has pipped at the wrong end, it most likely needs assistance.

Keep in mind that most chicks that have trouble hatching have trouble hatching because there is something wrong with the chick. IF you choose to assist, it may not make it or you may have to cull.

As for the rest, if it's only day 16, there's nothing to worry about. Hatch is usually on day 17.

Whatever day you put them in the incubator count as 0...Humidity good....I keep temp @ 100 the whole incubation period. From my experience buttons are a challenge....If it has been over 24 hours I would assist, BUT if any other eggs are hatching whenever you open that top you may Keep the others from hatching. Sometimes it will shrink wrap the hatchlings and dry them out. Im no expert though like I said buttons are a challenge. What their progress now???