Help, please! Do I need to separate?

cdampier

In the Brooder
Jul 28, 2018
Hi All ~

Here's my dilemma: I currently have 2 hens and woke today to find that Bette's comb has been ripped away from her head and is partially flopping around. I immediately separated the two, assuming it was an attack on Bette by Lucy. Since I only have the two (I'm a novice chicken owner, obviously :) ), do I need to keep them separated until Bette is fully healed? (is the stress of being separated going to be worse on them, I wonder?)

If I do need to keep them separated:
I have 4, 2-week-old chicks in a brooder that I'm planning on introducing in the future. Do I need to think about that as I think about reintroduction, and try to somehow integrate them altogether?

Any suggestions/advice from seasoned chicken owners would be much appreciated!

Lots of people here will help. Probably the most important thing is to provide photos.

Depending on the severity of the wound you may need to separate for care reasons alone. It is very important that the other hen not see any blood as they will peck at it. You can apply Blu-Kote to the repaired comb to change the color from red to blue in order to prevent this kind of pecking.

Do you actually know how the injury occurred? That can help make the decision to separate. If you knew that one did it to the other, then you would likely want to separate.

This should start you off. Others should join in soon I would think. We need photos, if you can.

Last edited:
Thanks for responding, BY Bob! I don't have pics; I will try later. I sprayed Bette's comb with blu kote right away (did take a long time to stop the blood!). I am wondering if I need to try and remove the dangling part of the comb, or if I should leave it alone to see how it heals?