Help with coop on or off ground!!

adw11

In the Brooder
Sep 15, 2015
So I am new to having chickens and am starting to build my coop I need to know weather to have it on or off the ground. And what materials the flooring should be. I am in North FL 1 hr south of Tallahassee. The temperature ranges from 20 or below degrees to 100+ depending on it being the heart or winter or summer. Any input is helpful.

I am not too familiar with your climate or what's best, here in Wisconsin it's best on the ground because of our harsh winters, I would assume Florida is a wetter climate and would be better off the ground, hopefully someone from down south will come and help you more.

You can do it either way. There are some advantages and disadvantages to both. The cold isn’t that big of a threat to you, I’ve seen chickens sleep outside in trees in below zero Fahrenheit weather. Just like the wild birds they find a sheltered spot out of the wind when it’s that cold but they can handle the cold really well. The heat is much more dangerous. They need shade when it is that hot.

Are you talking about a coop elevated up high enough so that you can get a wheelbarrow under the door so you can just scrape the bedding out when you change it or one that is just off the ground? If you build a coop with a floor that is just off the ground you have provided Mommy Mouse a great place to raise a family, actually many families. That can attract snakes, by the way. If you elevate it enough so the chickens can get under it they will keep the mice from nesting in that area, but you may need to retrieve eggs or maybe even a sick or injured chicken from under there. Lots of people have coops, sheds, and other outbuildings just off the ground and don’t have bad mouse problem, but mice are attracted to the chicken feed. That makes the potential for mouse problems really high around a coop.