Helping my Hen Go Broody and Preparing for my First Time Hatching Eggs

Sunshine009

Songster
6 Years
Jun 9, 2017
Hey, all! Hopefully I've found the right category for this thread as it could really fit in a few different areas.

I've been raising hens for several years now and raised chicks twice. Now, my hen that I got as a day-old last year has started going broody. I'm so proud!

But the keyword here is...started. I hadn't looked into it much before now since it hasn't been an issue, but I always thought hens sort of went through this gradual hormonal shift, but once they sat on the eggs, that was it - they're basically stuck there unless you take drastic measures. This hen has been displaying all the warning signs of a broody hen over these past few weeks - grumpy, moody, puffy, and loud - but just two days ago she FINALLY went to go sit on some eggs left behind in the coop.

Until she didn't.

She's gotten up and went milling around, eating, dust bathing, socializing, and so on, twice now in the past 24-48 hours, only to return to sit on her clutch for hours on end, and overnight once.

I know for most a broody hen is a nuisance, but as I was looking to get another small batch of chicks this year anyway, I was PUMPED for the opportunity to give her some fertilized eggs to sit on.

So, my first few batch of questions is - is this on-off behavior normal? Is she likely to settle in for the long-haul in the coming days? Is she maybe getting disturbed by the other hens coming in and out of the coop? Is there anything I can do to help her settle in and go full broody (I sort of suspect that the constant activity of the other hens in and out of the coop is upsetting her but that's just a wild guess)?

But there's a bit more to it...