Heritage breed question?

Chold05

Songster
May 24, 2020
Pittsburgh, PA
My Coop
My Coop
Hi All,
I purchased 6 chicks from a local feed store 2.5 years ago. Since then, I've learned so much about keeping chickens and recently lost 2 of my girls. One of my biggest regrets is purchasing from a feed store rather than a breeder who has their health and wellness in mind. I had no idea what I was supporting when we first got chickens, but now I know better and want to do better.

With that being said-- from what I've been researching, Heritage breeds sound like the way to go.

I have some silly questions... I'm still learning and appreciate anyone who reads this and shares their knowledge!

#1. When searching for a breeder, do they specify the chickens are heritage breeds?
#2. Or are heritage breeds just the breed itself, no certifications required, etc? For example, if someone is selling an "Ameraucana" it's automatically considered a heritage breed?
#3. I'm hoping to add colored layers to our small flock of now 4. (Ameraucana, Isbar, and Marans) I believe these are all considered heritage breeds, correct?

Thanks in advance for your help!

It's great to want to support local breeders and to keep heritage breeds alive, but there is one misconception about hatchery birds that tends to get spread around and which I'd like to correct.

When we say that hatchery birds are "low quality" we're not talking about their health. In fact, hatcheries depend on their ability to produce healthy, vigorous chicks.

What "low quality" means in the context it's used in is that the hatchery birds do not meet, and in some cases barely even approach, the expectations set by the Standard of Perfection for the breed in question.