Hi everyone ... Looking forward to learning more!

hbrunet72

In the Brooder
Jun 13, 2022
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?

I am very new to chickens, however I have been reading and researching for years. I know that there will be way more to learn now that I have birds, and for some reason I am way more nervous now than I was before I got them. I picked up my birds on June 8, so we are almost a week in.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

We have 13 female chicks and 1 male chick; along with 11 white muscovy ducklings.

(3) What breeds do you have?

The chickens I chose were red sex link.

(4) What are your favourite aspects of raising backyard chickens?

I love learning, and have always been a life long learner. I can't really say what my favourite aspect is yet, as I am so new to this.

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?

I am a handmade soap manufacturer, with my own small business. I also am the primary person responsible for any of the chores around my parent's property (chickens and ducklings are the first livestock we have, but we have a HUGE vegetable garden that I need to care for). So hobbies are few and far between. When I do have time for my hobbies, I love knitting and reading.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.