How cold is too cold for my location/situation?

Jul 20, 2022
I live in Hot Springs, SD (southwestern black hills), a dry climate, where winter temps have become extreme. Tonight/tomorrow lows expected -25 to -30 degrees F. The air temp here can get even colder than this, apparently (actual temp, excluding wind chill). I should add that winter temps are highly variable, so even though it's this cold right now, it might be +40 degrees in a week. I'm new to chickens and new to living in such an extreme environment.

My five cold-hearty, 8-month-old pullets have an insulated, 83 sq ft converted shed coop with good ventilation (5-6 feet) above where they roost. I can tell the birds are miserable due to the cold. I have a radiant heater that only provides a tiny bit of heat for the one bird at the end of the line who roosts next to it. During the day the birds do not lean against it and I'm not even sure they know how to benefit from it. They huddle in a corner, often up on one foot. I have another little heat panel (which is designed for nesting boxes) up on a shelf, but they never hover against it. They have very deep straw bedding and I try to get the poop up daily.

My questions are: 1) Should I bring the birds inside to a tiny laundry room when temps get this low even though I know that would be extremely stressful for them? What air temp would require me to bring them inside? 2) Should buy another radiant heater and try to mount it so that more birds can benefit or is there some other way to ensure their survival?

Thanks so much for your responses.

I live in NW Montana. My coop is uninsulated and has 10 square feet of vents that are never closed. There is no extra heat at all. The run has clear vinyl around 3 sides. At -26 my chickens are out in their run, pecking and eating and drinking and doing normal chicken things.