how hard is it to raise ducks?

Elmer love

In the Brooder
Aug 19, 2020
Hi there, Im going to post an email I sent to a aviary rescue with my details. I'm heartbroken but also already overwhelmed. I'm asking advice if I were to keep and extend my duck family..... I have no experience and don't know if I can handle having more and building an outside area with every predator around daily.... here is the gist of it

Hi, shohola veterinarian clinic advised me to reach out to Giselle..
I'm located in Hawley Pennsylvania and in April there was chaos between a fox and an immature bald eagle to my belief, when I checked it out I found 2 eggs near. I assumed they were Turkey eggs as they nest there yearly. I researched this and incubated and they hatched on may 28. One passed away shortly after hatching. But they were not Turkey's. Elmer is the surviving what I think is an ancona duck.
He is so loved, he goes outside at his leisure and also sits inside in a diaper now watching tv lol. I have 2 rescue handicapped dogs and a rescue angry parrolette. Just recently Elmer has been trying to mate with my dog and got very lucky a few times he wasn't killed and Elmer has gotten my parrolette a few times and he is now, as my son says trying to make my son lay an egg.... he is beyond affectionate and cuddly but the behavior and mess I clean has us in chaos. I'm trying my best but I'm worried about the situation. Ive been trying to keep him outside more and actually fought a redtail hawk off him while standing right next to him.
I'm a cancer patient and Elmer has been a great comfort. We thought about getting another duck perhaps but we don't know anything about it. I thought maybe if we found a close place that would take him if he was happy there, as heartbreaking as it may be for us would be the best choice.
I don't know if you would be willing to meet him or even able to accept him into your family or have any advice for us.