How many breeds to start with?

Dec 12, 2019
Ouachita Mountains
Forgive me if this is posted in the wrong forum. This forum seemed like the closest fit but if there is a better forum please feel free to tell me to repost or move the thread.

I am new to chickens and new-ish to the forums (lurked for a few years) so if there is an FAQ or sticky somewhere that addresses this I missed, feel free to point me in the right direction on that as well.

We are looking at ordering 25 chicks comprised of 5 different breeds from a hatchery because...

1) 25 chicks is the order minimum and 5 chicks per breed is the breed minimum.

2) We don't have a lot of selection breed wise in our area, most of the feed stores carry buff orpingtons, barred rocks and easter eggers and not much else. Lots of people own chickens but not many breed their chickens other than barnyard mixes and many of them started with just the breeds available at the local feed stores.

3) Our state is weird and there is a 6 chick minimum for purchasing poultry or waterfowl from a retail store of any kind but that minimum doesn't apply to small farm direct sales. I can sell as few or as many as I want to individuals (not stores) from my own flock.