How many quail?

kingfisherjr

In the Brooder
5 Years
Mar 23, 2014
Houston, Texas
I just built a quail pen and was wondering about how many birds I could comfortably and safely put in my pen. The pen is 9x5x4 and I plan to get either Texas A&M Whites or jumbo coturnix quail. Is there a square foot per bird rule of thumb or male to female ratio rule? I am totally new to raising quail so I know pretty much nothing about it except what I have read. I attached a picture of the pen I built if that helps any.

Thanks. I covered one side of it and I was thinking about just covering half of the back and leaving half open.. Do you think it would be better to cover the whole back of the pen or just half, for a little weather protection? I live a south of Houston so it doesn't get cold very often. The pen is 9 FT long by almost 5 FT wide by 4 FT tall.

It depends where you are putting the pen really, if it's up against a building it should be ok with one side covered. According to the 1 bird per square foot rule, you can have 45 birds in there, but I like to do a little less than the max.

Personally I'm not too excited about it... it'd work great for rabbits... but not quail imo... quail get flighty... If the jump up and fly up this cage is too tall... The gain too much speed and hit their head and kill their self or brain damage theirself... quail need pens that are a foot tall at most.

If your raising them for meat... how are you gonna grab Em out of that cage... they will run off...

An easy solution to your headroom problem would be to loosely hang a tarp or fabric about 18" up. When the birds flush they won't get the momentum to hurt themselves. Or build your pen as a double decker. Splitting the cage horizontally into two separate cages. You would double your capacity and provide protection for your birds. You would need a droppings tray system so that the birds underneath didn't get pooped on.