How to use galvanized waterer?

annmarie

Songster
12 Years
Nov 20, 2007
I feel really silly asking this, I'm not a newbie, but I've never used one of the traditional galvanized chicken waterers, and I'm taking care of a friend's chickens and that's what she uses. It's a very large one, and it appears to be sitting on maybe a heated base. It has a handle on the top, but when I tried to pick it up the water started glugging down into the reservoir, so I'm afraid that if I lift it by the handle, will the whole top of the thing pull off and the water will go everywhere? Am I supposed to lift it from the bottom? I hate not being able to inspect it empty first so I can see how it works, and it's in a dimly lit corner of the coop so I really can't see much! Fortunately it seems heavy enough right now that they should have plenty of water for today but I do need to figure this out, hopefully without soaking myself and her coop! Also, once I've got it out of the coop, how to I disassemble it to fill it, and is there a trick to flipping it back over without dumping water all over myself, or what am I doing with this thing?

The top "cover" should turn about 1/2" counterclockwise, and the cover will pull off upwards. The water slopping around shouldn't be an issue. The cover will have a vacuum effect as it comes off, so dont fret... Just tug it upwards. The cover as it seats pushes in on a rubber stopper to allow water to pass into the drinking rim. Good luck!

Ah ha! Thank you! So it is okay to carry it to the water spigot by that handle on top then, correct?

It is a really big one. She does have some buckets around so I bet she fills the buckets and adds water that way. Thank you both!

It should have a pin at base of center tower. Slide the entire tower to unlock then pull it off. It will undo the vacum so water will overflow. After filling, yes water overflows as your filling, slide tower back on and lock it. Vacum is created and works as normal.

Think that makes sence.