If no one knows about jungle fowl what to do about a chick?

philter4

Songster
8 Years
Apr 3, 2011
Placerville CA
I have both green and grey jungle fowl and today it snowed. I normally keep them inside when the weather is cool but yesterday and this morning it was in the 60- 70's but in the early afternoon today it started hailing and then snowing. I put them in but the temps went from the 60's to the 30's in less then an hour. What should I look for as far as respiratory stress or an infection do to the temperature stress? If they begin to show signs of disease what should I do for a treatment, these are not tame birds and I don't handle them at all unless I have to. I have very little experience with birds, I have only been keeping them again for 2 years after a 30+ year absence from the hobby so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
If no one knows about jungle fowl, what would you look for in a chick whose heat lamp went out at night? I am assuming that the symptoms and treatment of cold stress would be the same for a chicken as a jungle fowl. Any suggestions or help would be greatly appreciated so I can avoid an emergency situation but start treating or get them to the vet early if they need to go.

When my heat lamp went out, my chicks would cuddle together tightly and shiver. I had to quickly find a replacement bulb. Good luck with your birds. You are lucky to have such unique fowl.

Quote:
Thank you for your answer, what should I be looking for as far as symptoms of stress or illness? Is there a preventative I should do just in case? How long will it take to show the signs of a problem?