I'm new to ALLL of this.!

BrookLynn140

Hatching
Oct 6, 2016
Phoenix, AZ
Hello.! I have been using this site for the past couple days and decided to make an account because I knew I'd have many questions.
About a week and a half ago my sister got a Rhode Island Red Chicken and we read that they don't do good alone, and that she was too big to mix with the small chicks that the pet and feed store by my house had. They were all saying how my chick Providence would kill the chick and to not mix, but then one girl told us that ducks and chickens are fine so that means I got a magpie duckling. Named him Abraham(cause his "top hat") Or at least she called him a magpie and she seemed to know a lot about ducks. I was too excited about getting a duck that I didn't think to ask a couple questions... How old is my little Magpie(I'll add a pic)? Is he even a magpie.? And do ducks and or chickens need shots to be house pets.? I have two dogs and a cat that seem to be completely fine with the birds coming into our lives; and that's awesome, but I don't want anyone to get sick.!

That's definitely a Magpie. By the looks of him, he's about a week old. As for your last question, I'm not sure as I've never had house-poultry.

welcome-byc.gif

I agree it looks like a Magpie and no more than a week. I just adore the little black and yellow webs on Magpie ducklings!
love.gif

I've never heard of any shots required for fowl, other than the vaccines hatcheries give at hatch. You will want to be careful that the duckling doesn't get everything in the brooder wet because chicks don't do well when constantly wet. The duckling will also need additional niacin that the chick doesn't. However, I don't think it will harm the chick to get extra.