Introducing new 2 new chics to 2 - 2 month old chics.

GreenGables

Songster
12 Years
Feb 25, 2011
MA
I have 2 chicks that I got March 23rd. I am picking up 2 more tomorrow. Can I put these new chicks in with the 2 month old chicks?

Good question...i want to know that too !
smile.png

In my experience, which is limited, if they're around the same age it's probably OK. When I introduced some that were within a couple of weeks of each other, they did just fine.

Just my little 2 cents worth! Maybe someone with more experience will chime in.

NO!!! That is too great a difference in age, and the younger ones will be hurt...they need to be separated.

Quote:
I will err on the side of caution. Would I wait a couple of weeks and then put them together?

Hey, I am new at this chick thing too but I read that when there is an age difference or even when ever your introducing new gals to the group that it is best to put the new ones in a small cage and sit in the space so the old gals can check out the new gals and get use to them. That would keep them safe and give them a bit of time to adjust. The book also said, there is a bit of the pecking order attitudes that will go on and it is normal. You younger ones need to be about or close to equal size when they mix together. Good luck and let me know how they do. We had considered about picking up a few more chicks but wasn't quiet ready to maybe deal with the introduction thing when the time came. Our gals are 8 weeks old.