Introducing new ducklings

Bevy326

Chirping
Aug 19, 2018
Hello I'm new to the duck owning world. In June I had gotten 3 baby welsh harlequins and unfortunately for reasons unknown 2 of the 3 died. One was within the first week and the other at about 4 weeks. Anyway I have a new flock of 5 coming in about a week. I've read about introducing new ducklings to older ducks, but it is the same process to introduce them to a younger one? I know beverly is super lonely and I am anxious to get her new friends to her as soon as possible, but I of course want to do it the right way. She is about 2 months old at this point.

Hello I'm new to the duck owning world. In June I had gotten 3 baby welsh harlequins and unfortunately for reasons unknown 2 of the 3 died. One was within the first week and the other at about 4 weeks. Anyway I have a new flock of 5 coming in about a week. I've read about introducing new ducklings to older ducks, but it is the same process to introduce them to a younger one? I know beverly is super lonely and I am anxious to get her new friends to her as soon as possible, but I of course want to do it the right way. She is about 2 months old at this point.
I too am new to duck owning so can't advise but I can tell it didn't work for us, the new elder ducks bullied ours terribly and ours were so scared they took to hiding in bushes and wouldn't dare come out, they even tried to attack our chickens as well so we got rid of them and opted for two younger instead which has worked out lovely - however we had professional breeders/farmers tell us if we gave it time things would calm eventually, would take a couple of months or so but everyone would get to know their place in the pecking order but we didn't want to, so we gave them back to the seller and replaced with the ones we have now.

I hope it all works out for you :)

Welcome to BYC!