Just a regular girl in NC. Then I found BYC...

Mama C

In the Brooder
9 Years
Apr 19, 2010
Chatham County, NC
Okay BYCers-

I have been hanging around the forum for a few months now, but I’ve been chicken-less the entire time. I know, I know – some of you can’t comprehend that! But this is the big week. My 26 little gals are set to ship from McMurray this weekend. So I just wanted to say “Hello” and let you know that you have officially ruined another perfectly normal person. I hope you’re happy.

Originally I was going to start with a 10x8 coop and a small order of chicks, but then I found BYC and wondered why NOT a 10x12?? Then I thought, but if I build a 10x16 I can still have my 120 sq ft but then I can have 40 sq ft of storage as well. Then the simple metal roof became a shingled roof, painted plywood walls became easy to clean tileboard and heaven knows a wood floor would not be as convenient as a vinyl one! Insulation? Sure. Just in case. My coop is now officially better built than my current home. I’m not exaggerating.

The run that was to be 160 square feet is now planned for twice that. We don’t have a single chicken feather on our property yet and I’m wondering how long I should wait to buy an incubator. I read the hatching egg auctions religiously and I’m making a list of breeders whose birds I would like to add next.

People keep saying “You must really like eggs to get that many chickens!” And the punchline is that No, I’m not all that fond of them.
idunno.gif

This is what you people have done to me. Yeah, I’m looking at you…users numbered 1 to 60,761 and counting.

Tomorrow I go to make sure things are set at the post office and set up/test the brooder. I also need to finalize my predator proofing on the coop. I can only imagine where this adventure is going to take me. Actually, no I can’t. I never expected to be involved at this level so I guess I’ll just kick back and wait to see where you guys take me next!