Keeping Roosters: I'd like advice on keepingRoosters without fighting or burdening hens.

GrammiChelle

Songster
8 Years
May 21, 2014
Southwest Texas
I am a relative newbie to chicken keeping. I have a flock of 15 month old birds. My first flock. They are 6 Rhode Island Red hens and a Blue Langshan rooster. I have them in my big coop and they free range in my totally fenced in yard most of the afternoon.
He is a good rooster, takes good care of his girls and is pretty gentle with them. Two are presently wearing saddles right now from over attention. I think he's very gentle, but he is twice their size.

I also have new chicks, one month old right now. I ran the risk of getting roosters, knowing I might have to re home some of them. I got 4 Easter Egger pullets, and a group of 15 Feather Footed Fancies. So they're all either Brahmas, Cochins, or Langshans. And it's quite likely that 50% are cockerels.

I also got a Mystery Chick, which I think is most likely male I think he's a Dominique and I'm quite in love with him. So far, he's a very calm little bird with lovely markings and very soft feathers.

I. am not that worried since these breeds are rare where I live and I shouldn't have any trouble finding homes for these pretty boys.
But I love my boys and want to keep 2-3 of them.
So I need some advice on how to do that, peacefully. Right now, the young birds are in my little Red Coop, which has a nice attached run. I don't plan to let them free range until they are 4 months old. Between now and then, I need to decide how many I'm keeping, how to house them, and create appropriate housing for everyone who's staying.

Some of the decision about who is staying will depend on how well they get along. I don't anticipate big problems with my mature rooster since he is a very sweet, docile bird. Not a fighter. Although I'm certain he would die to protect his girls, he is not aggressive in any way he is something of a scaredy cat, actually