Lame duck

trailhound

Songster
11 Years
Mar 7, 2008
I noticed yesterday that my Cayuga hen seemed a little extra waddley, but wasn't sure if I was seeing things or not since I am new to ducks. Today as I was trying to herd my ducks in for the night she was significantly worse. After just the one lap around the coop, during which she would take a few off steps then lay down until I got closer, she could barely walk and was crawling and using her wings to move forward. Once in the coop, both of my drakes came after her, almost like they were trying to mate, but really more aggressively. I have two hens and two drakes, and they mostly seem to be interested in this one hen and not the other. Have they injured her by being too aggressive or persistent during mating? She has been laying almost every day, even today and I can't see anything wrong with her, no wounds, swelling or heat in her legs.

Any thoughts? Do I need to get rid of one of the boys? I was thinking about selling one pair, but would she be okay even with the one drake, or should he go too until I can have a higher hen to drake ratio?

For now, I have her in a separate cage in the garage since the drakes were harassing her and she couldn't do anything about it.

Of course, she is my favorite out of the bunch, I hope she will be okay!

Thanks for your help!
Andrea

You need to separate her. The drakes can and will injure a duck in their "zeal". Let her rest and heal away from the drakes. She sounds stressed.

Or just put the drakes in their own area and let the 2 ducks keep each other company while the one heals.

You might want to consider adding a few more girls to your flock.

We separate our drakes every spring.

The little mashers.

Thanks for the advice. She is standing and complaining this morning, so I think I will separate the girls and boys for awhile and see if that helps. Duck jail for those boys!