Let my girls inside today...

SuzClaytor

In the Brooder
Jul 9, 2015
Bulls Gap, TN
Just cuz...") They have a certain time of day where they hunker around our front door. Today was very cold so I let them in by the woodstove for about 20min. They seemed to enjoy it, though my hubby was dubious!

I'm no expert on cold weather, but do you not think the shock of returning to the cold after being in your house may be detrimental? If temperatures are an issue (remember that chickens are very cold hardy) then some kind of warmth outside your home may be more appropriate. Reading info here on BYC it appears that adult chickens do not need additional warmth to be fine - just what i've read, not what i have experience with.

Here's a live thread that you may find useful

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1081433/anxious-newbie#post_16543598

All the best
CT

Last edited:
Your chickens don't need to be let into your house even on very cold days as long as they are a cold hardy breed and they have a draft free, dry, and well ventilated (so that moisture does not build up inside) coop to go into. Feathers are wonderful insulators and moisture is a much greater danger than cold.

I'm with Michael on this.

I know with the best intentions we don't want our chickens getting
cold. But to come inside and then go back out...it's really not the
best ideal. Can be hard on them.

That's why a good coop is SO important. Pretty coops are nice.
But good solid coops are better. Warm, draft free. Vented. Main thing
is dry. Chicken is pretty hardy with just a little help,

Draft can't be stressed enough. No draft in coop. Control the air.
(I have windows to open / close.)

Insulated the walls when I built it just because I wanted to. Knowing
that I wasn't adding a heat source.

I like the deep litter method, but the water is heated and on a board so
any excess spill drains away. Again, wood floor insulated.

A good coop is more than just a pretty wooden box.