logic re number of coops

beardiemom

In the Brooder
9 Years
Aug 21, 2010
Western MA
I am a chicken newbie. We raised our first 6 girls from day olds and so far everything has gone well (knock on wood). They are now giving us 4-6 eggs per day, which is plenty. We built a log cabin coop with attached run for them and while it is big enough for 6, I wouldn't want to push more in. Yet, it is true that this is an addictive sport. So, now to the questions:

People always say build bigger, but what is the real advantage of one big coop? Given the horrific tales I hear about chickens picking on each other and the picked-on refusing to go back in the coops, people putting them back in and then finding them beaten up the next morning.... wouldn't it make more sense to have a few small coops so that there is no crowding and birds who don't get along together don't have to live with each other?

If you do have a few smaller coops and like it that way, do the chickens share a common yard (if you can keep them in it?) or do you give them separate yards?

We currently have a yard for the chickens and a yard for the ducks. The ducks stay in their yard, but the chickens just fly over the 4 foot fence, each the ducks' food, drink out of their bucket, check out their house, and scratch for treats in the hay.

Sharon

Quote:
First, it is significantly cheaper and easier to build one bigger coop than several smaller coops with the same total square footage.

Second, it is much easier to MANAGE, as you only have to haul water or run electricity to one place not several, and often run fencing can be more "condensed" and thus cheaper too.

Third, it is far more flexible, because a larger space can be subdivided any of a number of different ways depending on your changing needs, whereas (say) a 4x4 coop is a 4x4 coop no matter what.