Lucky - The Little Chook we saved from the cat

LooFamily

Hatching
7 Years
Mar 14, 2012
Dear all...

I am fairly new at this chicken rearing hobby... my hubby saved a chick from the cat last weekend and the chick decided to stay with us... very interesting as it seem to be really tame... it is still afraid being help by hand ard the body..but it is willing to hop on its own onto my lap or even my arm ...

It is also following me everywhere when i clean its cage's newspaper.

Anyone can tell from the picture if it is a boy or gal? i also dunnoe how old it is... it does not have any spur above the back toe ...well at least not yet.

Any idea how old is this chick?
I got some chicken feed from the local store.. the chick seem to only like to pick up the really small bread crumb pieces.. is it too big for it? what must i do? soak it?

Appreciate any tips offered...

Yep, a month or so old. I'm saying a rooster because every time I've found a chick it was a rooster! Feeding crumbles is fine, and eating the small stuff at this age is normal. Please keep us updated with more photos! I like the setup you have for him/her.

thanks all... ^_^ Currently giving it water via my doggie's spare doggy bowl.. it seem like it like to "play with water". Each time i clean the cage...the water bowl is dirty... and the newspaper is wet... do you think it is just a "play habit" ? Notice that there is a special water feeder than has a small little opening with a mini "bowl" at the very end for birds... should i get this? It comes in different sizes... so i guess..the biggest one makes sense?

I attempted to let it out to the garden... by carrying it when it like to hop onto my arm... i let it down gently onto the grass..but each time.. it just hurried along back to its enclosure.. or near it... is this normal? I was thinking it would like to catch some "bugs" or sorts.. in the morning on its own..hence let it out for some "outdoor" time.