MISSPRISSY HELP ME PLEASE!!!!!!!!

lightbread48

In the Brooder
11 Years
Feb 23, 2008
Thomasville Ga
The people in the chat said i should ask you this:

I put 6 eggs in my incubator 6 days ago. without thinking, i put 6 more in 2 days ago. Now the hatch times will be different. How will i keep from cooking and drowning the ones i put in last when the first ones begin to hatch? Keeping in mind i only have one incubator.
he.gif

Well, I'm not MissPrissy, but I've been incubating for quite a few years. There's really no good way to do it with only one incubator. Since they're only 4 days apart, you might be able to get by with it this time. If incubating eggs is something you want to continue, I'd encourage you to either not do staggered hatches.....or get a second incubator to use as a hatcher.

Well it is not an ideal situation but let's think a minute -

There are 4 days difference in their ages.

For the first group day 18 is day 14 for the second group.

I am not an expert so let's get some other advise in here on this one.

The moderate humidity is 30 - 50% from day 1 - 18. After day 18 we boost it to 70%.

On day 18 you could try raising the humidity to 60%.

On day 21 you could then boost it to 70% because your other eggs will be coming up to day 18.

Then maintain it at 70% through the hatch.

Remember when you start moving out hatched chicks to do it quick. Once they hatch they can stay in there 24 hours to get dry and warm and gain their strength. So try not to open it if you can help it.

What do you other hatching ppl think?

Would her 2nd set of eggs suffer with the humidity boost? Would she have a problem with mushy chick syndrome?