My Babs is dying

Sandra Verbreyt

Songster
Jul 12, 2017
Temse Belgium
I have 2 Silkies Babs and Margo.
Babs has been very ill now for 4 or 5 weeks and despite numerous visits to the vet and varioous medications today she is very ill and can not even lift her head.
Yesterday I noticed mites etc aroound her bottom and so I bathed her to clean them away. Since doing this she went downhill and is now in the coop head down and not moving at all :(.
I intend on replacing her with another Silkie so that Margo will not be lonely. Has anybody any advice on how to introduce an new chicken to margo as im quite new to having chickens.
BYC has become my saviour where the chickens are concerned. Thanks for any advice that anybody can give.

You may want to introduce 2 new Silkies to Margo, starting with the See but No Touch idea. Keep the 2 Newbies in a wire cage (food & water) in the coop with Margo for a few weeks, see how they interact before doing a supervised "play".

Sorry to hear of Babs illness :hugs How old is she? If she has mites, you may want to check Margo also as well as their coop/bedding would need to be treated.

You may want to introduce 2 new Silkies to Margo, starting with the See but No Touch idea. Keep the 2 Newbies in a wire cage (food & water) in the coop with Margo for a few weeks, see how they interact before doing a supervised "play".

Sorry to hear of Babs illness :hugs How old is she? If she has mites, you may want to check Margo also as well as their coop/bedding would need to be treated.